The school’s curriculum is organised to cover four main areas/subjects of learning. These are:

– Qur’an & Tajweed
– Basic Arabic language
– Islamic Study
– Adaab/manners

SIS organises children in Class 1 to 8.  Children aged 6½ years start in Class 1 and move to the next class after a year provided that they have reached the expected standards in the above subjects.

SIS teaches children to recite the Qur’an accurately,  memorise Juz Amma, and revise what they learn over the years.  These three strands form the basis of assessment in Qur’an at the end of each year.

The school teaches basic Arabic language starting from Class 2.  In Class 6, 7 and 8 it uses  العربية باينا يادايك  which is equivalent to GCSE standards.  Students who reach the required levels at the end of Class 7 may be entered for GCSE in Class 8.

Children are taught about the various aspects of Islam which include Aqeedah, Fiqh, Seerah and Du’a as part of Islamic Studies.

Islamic etiquette and manners are taught through whole school assemblies. Children are encouraged to organise presentations and talks, and participate in practical demonstrations.

The school day is organised into four lessons with breaks for play, lunch and Salah.

Class Qur’an & Tajweed Arabic language Islamic studies Adaab
1 (6½ – 7½ years) 2 lessons – Memorisation & Tilawah (reading) 1 lesson of basic reading and writing 1 lesson per week Islamic manners taught through assemblies and group projects
2 (7½ – 8½ years)
3 (8½ – 9½ years)
4 (9½ – 10½ years) 1 lesson – Tajweed & Memorisation 2 lessons in basic Arabic language
5 (10½ – 11½ years)
6 (11½ – 12½ years) 1 lesson – Tilawah & Tafseer 2 lessons leading to GCSE equivalent in Arabic language Project based studies
7 (12½ – 13½ years)
8 (13½ – 15 years)